Sunday Funday: Beer’d Banana Bread

4 Nov

So Nick has taken to brewing on Sunday mornings, which leaves me with A) the rest of the apartment basically to myself because no one else is awake on weekend mornings, and B) lots of leftover barley that I get to cook with. I cannot take any credit for this recipe at all, I got it from Brooklyn Brewshop: Spent Grain Chef which has a lot of recipes that I am dying to try out. This evening’s feast looks like it will be barley pizza dough!

But anyway, on with the good stuff:

What I used:
1 cup of spent grain flour (explanation below)
¾ whole wheat unbleached flour (thank you Marianne!)
2 teaspoons baking powder
½ teaspoon salt
5 tablespoons butter
¾ cup sugar
2 ripe bananas
2 eggs, beaten
½ cup chopped pecans

Spent grain flour is made from taking the barley used in beer brewing, drying it, and grinding it up to break into smaller particles. It doesn’t become as fine as normal flour, but the texture makes food just feel more grain-y (does that even make sense?).

IMG_9653-001

I followed the directions on the site to a perfect T. I started by preheating the oven to 350. I stirred the two flours, baking powder, salt in a bowl.

IMG_9650-001

In a bigger bowl, I (read:Nick) creamed the butter and sugar. When that looked pretty well mixed (and gross) I added the eggs and banana, and stirred.

IMG_9657-001

Then I dumped the flours into the bigger bowl and stirred everything up. I added the nuts in, stirred to incorporate them, and then poured the mixture into a beautifully crisco-ed loaf pan.

IMG_9670-001

I covered with aluminum foil and baked for an hour, removing the foil halfway through.

It was really heavy and dense, but super super delicious. We threw some butter on there and it was simply heavenly.

IMG_9672-001

Leave a Reply

